by | last updated on January 20, 2016
The number of drinks it takes to reach Florida’s illegal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limits varies for people because of a number of factors. However, there are certain organizations that discourage drinking and driving, including several states’ Department of Transportation, that have created tables to help estimate the number of drink it takes to reach  the illegal BAC limit.

Factors that Affect BAC

It’s important to keep in mind that without proper chemical tests (such as breath, blood, or urine tests), it’s not possible to come up with an exact or accurate BAC number.

This is because there are numerous factors that can affect a reading, such as:

  • age;
  • health;
  • gender;
  • body weight;
  • metabolism;
  • rate of consumption;
  • body fat percentage;
  • foods consumed;
  • medications; and
  • alcohol tolerance.

Number of Drinks to Reach the Limit

Tables provided on the Florida State University Health Services website estimates BAC based on gender, body weight, number of drinks, and time:

  • Men – 140-pound man after one hour and three drinks: BAC of .06. After three hours with three drinks: BAC of .03.
  • Men – 180-pound man after one hour and three drinks: BAC of .05. After three hours with three drinks: BAC of .01.
  • Women – 100-pound woman after one hour and three drinks: BAC of .12 After three hours with three drinks: .09.
  • Women – 140-pound woman after one hour and three drinks: BAC of .08 After three hours with three drinks: BAC of .05.

Again, this is not an exact science, and these numbers should never be used as an excuse for drinking and driving. The safest bet is not to drive if alcohol has been consumed. Also, keep in mind that Florida has a zero-tolerance policy for drivers under the age of 21. For minors, the only acceptable BAC is zero.

Alcohol’s Effect on the Body

Alcohol is directly absorbed into the blood stream and carried to the body’s tissues and organs. This includes the brain, where alcohol can affect and impair brain and motor function within minutes.  A person does not need to exhibit any outwards signs of “drunken behavior” in order to have an illegal BAC limits of 0.08 or above.

However, there are some common traits exhibited by intoxicated drivers, including:

  • frequently changing speeds or lanes;
  • ignoring stop signs;
  • unaware of speed;
  • weaving and swerving;
  • following other cars too closely;
  • making excessively wide turns;
  • driving in the center the of roadway instead of the lane; and
  • going 10 miles an hour under the speed limit.
Penalties If Caught with a BAC Over the Illegal BAC Limit

If someone is caught with a BAC over 0.08, he/she will be charged with driving under the influence (DUI).

First time offenders face:

  • up to six months in jail;
  • losing driver’s license for at least six months;
  • up to one year probation;
  • fines  up to $500;
  • up to 50 hours of community service; and
  • 12 hours of DUI classes.

The more offenses a driver has had, the more severe the penalties.

Hiring an Attorney for DUI Charges in Fort Lauderdale

Not all drivers charged with a DUI are guilty, and there are numerous defenses to a DUI case that can get the charges dropped, or the penalties reduced. Contact the Offices of Robert David Malove in Fort Lauderdale for a free consultation at (954) 861-0384 to discuss your case today.