by | last updated on January 20, 2016
Severity of DUI penalties in Florida depend on the number of previous convictions the individual has had, as well as several other extenuating factors pertaining to the incident such as any injuries or property damage in an accident caused by the drunk driver. Those facing DUI charges can seek legal help from Fort Lauderdale DUI attorneys who can discuss defense strategies and possible penalties.

DUI Penalties in Florida for a First Conviction

For a first-time conviction of a DUI, a person can be fined, ordered to complete community service, be put on probation or even face imprisonment.

The possible penalties include:

  • a fine of $500 to $1,000, and if BAC is higher than .15 or there was a minor in the vehicle at the time of arrest, the fine will be between $1,000 and $2,000;
  • a mandatory 50 hours of community service, or $10 fine per each hour of community service required;
  • up to one year probation;
  • up to six months in jail or, if BAC was .15 or higher or a minor was in the vehicle, up to nine months; and/or
  • vehicle impoundment for up to 10 days.

If the driver caused injury or property damage while committing the DUI, he/she could also face a first-degree misdemeanor charge that carries a maximum $1,000 fine and up to one year in prison. Fort Lauderdale DUI attorneys will evaluate the specific circumstances of the DUI charges to determine possible penalties.

Second Conviction DUI Penalties in Florida

Upon a second DUI conviction, penalties are steeper, including higher fines, more jail time and long-term vehicle impoundment.

Second conviction DUI penalties in Florida include:

  • a fine of $1,000 to $2,000 or, if BAC was .15 or if a minor was in the car, $2,000 to $4,000;
  • up to nine months in jail or, if BAC was .15 or a minor was in the vehicle, up to one year, and if the second conviction happened within five years of the first, the suspect must face mandatory imprisonment for at least 10 days; and/or
  • vehicle impoundment of up to 30 days if second conviction within five years of first.

Penalties for Third and Fourth Convictions

Total penalties could include:

  • fines from $2,000 to $5,000;
  • jail time up to one year if third conviction more than 10 years;
  • vehicle impoundment of up to 90 days if convictions are within 10 years; and/or
  • a third-degree felony charge which carries up to five years imprisonment or a $5,000 fine.

Anyone who is facing DUI charges should contact Fort Lauderdale DUI attorneys as soon as possible to begin building their defense. Contact the Law Offices of Robert David Malove at 888-744-8225 to review DUI charges and possible DUI penalties in Florida.